Girls Against God

Girls Against God

Regular price
$17.46
Sale price
$17.46
Regular price
$19.95
Sold out
Unit price
per 

Standard domestic shipping is included.

Author / Contributor(s): Jenny Hval
Publisher: Verso Fiction
Date: 2020
Binding:

Paperback / softback. 240p.
5.00 in. x 7.70 in.

Condition: NEW

A genre-warping, time-travelling horror novel-slash-feminist manifesto for fans of Clarice Lispector and Jeanette Winterson.

Welcome to 1990s Norway. White picket fences run in neat rows and Christian conservatism runs deep. But as the Artist considers her work, things start stirring themselves up. In a corner of Oslo a coven of witches begin cooking up some curses. A time-travelling Edvard Munch arrives in town to join a death metal band, closely pursued by the teenaged subject of his painting Puberty, who has murder on her mind. Meanwhile, out deep in the forest, a group of school girls get very lost and things get very strange. And awful things happen in aspic.

Jenny Hval's latest novel is a radical fusion of queer feminist theory and experimental horror, and a unique treatise on magic, writing and art.

Strange and lyrical. Hval's writing is surreal and rich with the grotesque banalities of human existence. --Publishers Weekly

The themes of alienation, queerness, and the unsettling nature of desire align Hval with modern mainstays like Chris Kraus, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Maggie Nelson. --Pitchfork