The New Politics of North Carolina

The New Politics of North Carolina

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author/Contributor(s): Cooper, Christopher A ; Knotts, H Gibbs
Publisher: University of North Carolina Press
Date: 05/01/2008
Binding: Paperback
Condition: NEW
Political scientist V. O. Key in 1949 described North Carolina as a progressive plutocracy. He argued that in the areas of industrial development, public education, and race relations, North Carolina appeared progressive when compared to other southern states. Reconsidering Key's evaluation nearly sixty years later, contributors to this volume find North Carolina losing ground as a progressive leader in the South. The new politics of the state involves a combination of new and old: new opportunities and challenges have forced the state to change, but the old culture still remains a powerful force.

In the eleven essays collected here, leading scholars of North Carolina politics offer a systematic analysis of North Carolina's politics and policy, placed in the context of its own history as well as the politics and policies of other states. Topics discussed include the evolution of politics and political institutions; the roles of governors, the judicial branch, interest groups, and party systems; and the part played by economic development and environmental policy. Contributors also address how geography affects politics within the state, region, and nation. Designed with students and interested citizens in mind, this collection provides an excellent introduction to contemporary North Carolina politics and government.

Hunter Bacot, Elon University
Christopher A. Cooper, Western Carolina University
Thomas F. Eamon, East Carolina University
Jack D. Fleer, Wake Forest University
Dennis O. Grady, Appalachian State University
Ferrel Guillory, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sean Hildebrand, Western Carolina University
Jonathan Kanipe, Town Manager, Catawba, North Carolina
H. Gibbs Knotts, Western Carolina University
Adam J. Newmark, Appalachian State University
Charles Prysby, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Ruth Ann Strickland, Appalachian State University
James H. Svara, Arizona State University
Timothy Vercellotti, Rutgers University

The contributors are Hunter Bacot, Christopher A. Cooper, Thomas F. Eamon, Jack D. Fleer, Dennis O. Grady, Ferrel Guillory, Sean Hildebrand, Jonathan Kanipe, H. Gibbs Knotts, Adam J. Newmark, Charles Prysby, Ruth Ann Strickland, James H. Svara, and Timothy Vercellotti. The editors are Christopher A. Cooper and H. Gibbs Knotts.