Land at the End of the World

Land at the End of the World

Regular price
$16.76
Sale price
$16.76
Regular price
$19.95
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author/Contributor(s): Lobo Antunes, António ; Costa, Margaret Jull
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Date: 06/25/2012
Binding: Paperback. 226p.
Condition: NEW

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century's most original literary voices offers kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World--in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa--recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator's evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.