Crow Fair: Stories

Crow Fair: Stories

Regular price
$15.26
Sale price
$15.26
Regular price
$16.95
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author/Contributor(s): McGuane, Thomas
Publisher: Vintage
Date: 03/08/2016
Binding: Paperback
Condition: NEW
Set in Big Sky Country, a triumphant collection of stories written with a comic genius in the vein of Twain and Gogol--from from the acclaimed author of Ninety-two in the Shade and Cloudbursts, "one of America's best short-story writers of the last 50 years (The Boston Globe)

These stories attest to the generous compass of Thomas McGuane's fellow feeling, as well as to his unique way with words. In this collection, filled with grace and humor, the ties of family make for uncomfortable binds: A devoted son is horrified to discover his mother's antics before she slipped into dementia, and a father's outdoor skills are no match for a change in the weather. But complications arise equally in the absence of blood, as when lifelong friends on a fishing trip finally confront their deep dislike for each other. Or when a gifted traveling cattle breeder succumbs to the lure of a stranger's offer of easy money.

McGuane is as witty and large-hearted as we have ever known him, and Crow Fair is a jubilant, thunderous confirmation of his status as a modern master.