In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

Regular price
$5.59
Sale price
$5.59
Regular price
$6.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author/Contributor(s): Lord, Bette Bao ; Simont, Marc
Publisher: HarperCollins
Date: 04/02/2019
Binding: Paperback
Condition: NEW

A timeless classic that will enchant readers who love Jennifer L. Holm and Thanhhà Lại, about an immigrant girl inspired by the sport she loves to find her own home team--and to break down any barriers that stand in her way.

Shirley Temple Wong sails from China to America with a heart full of dreams. Her new home is Brooklyn, New York. America is indeed a land full of wonders, but Shirley doesn't know any English, so it's hard to make friends.

Then a miracle happens: baseball! It's 1947, and Jackie Robinson, star of the Brooklyn Dodgers, is a superstar. Suddenly Shirley is playing stickball with her class and following Jackie as he leads the Brooklyn Dodgers to victory after victory.

With her hero smashing assumptions and records on the ball field, Shirley begins to feel that America is truly the land of opportunity--and perhaps has also become her real home.