The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck

Regular price
$5.59
Sale price
$5.59
Regular price
$6.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author/Contributor(s):
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Date:
Binding: Paperback
Condition:

"A grand, giddy, and, at times, literally soaring tale."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An amusing, fast-paced tale of land, sky, and spies."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Wherever there is injustice, nefarious plots, or threats to society, the Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck are there to stop them!

A sly villain with a plan to cause havoc across the globe is no match for three extraordinary animals--and their two young human friends. From acclaimed author and artist Matt Phelan, The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck is a hilarious, action-packed, and highly illustrated middle grade adventure perfect for fans of Skunk and Badger and Flora & Ulysses.

The very first passengers to ride in a hot-air balloon were a sheep, a rooster, and a duck in 1783. And while hot-air balloons are indeed wondrous, ten-year-old Emile is too busy being the fastidious caretaker of ambassador Benjamin Franklin's château in Paris to think much about them.

But soon, young Emile finds himself right in the middle of a sinister plot. And right in the middle of the secret headquarters for France's undercover guardians--the very same sheep, rooster, and duck that piloted the first hot-air balloon. If Emile can muster his courage and be bold, he may be the key to helping the heroes save both Benjamin Franklin and the world.

Award-winning author Matt Phelan's The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck is a highly illustrated adventure full of secrets, hijinks, and reimagined historical events. This rip-roaring and surprising story is ideal for reluctant readers, aspiring heroes, and fans of Peter Brown's The Wild Robot.