Stiltsville PB

Stiltsville PB

Regular price
$14.99
Sale price
$14.99
Regular price
$14.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author/Contributor(s): Daniel, Susanna
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Date: 06/28/2011
Binding: Paperback
Condition: NEW

A wise and loving portrait of a marriage. . . . Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart. -- Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel's Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage--and a romance--that deepens over the course of three decades.

One sunny morning in 1969, 26 year old Frances Ellerby finds herself in a place called Stiltsville, a community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay. It's the first time the Atlanta native has been out on the open water, and she's captivated. On the dock of a stilt house, with the dazzling skyline in the distance and the unknowable ocean beneath her, she meets the house's owner, Dennis DuVal--and a new future reveals itself.

Called "an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read" by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep), Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.